New Company New Distress

I joined the new company with BB (Big Big Boss) and B (Big Boss). It is somewhat like a start-up, but not quite. There are already existing offices in Korea and Japan. Singapore office is a new set-up. I seriously don’t mind handling all the required tasks for the new office, such as sourcing for new vendors, and equipment and supplies. However, when you have idiotic colleagues who think your job is easy and that you are very free and keep on pushing tasks to you, it’s another story.

BB’s always changing schedule makes things worse. Especially when he is out of town and asking me to fix meetings and appointments for him overseas. He doesn’t seem to understand that it’s not easy for me to make a lunch/dinner reservation for where he is at. Firstly, the language barrier, the Japanese/Korean websites are not as friendly as what we have in Singapore. We can almost make all reservations online in Singapore. That is not the case in other countries. If I have to call to make a reservation, I don’t communicate in their languages. There is no Admin personnel in Japan Tokyo office. They have an Office Manager in Osaka office, but what’s the point when he’s not physically there? What can he do? Nothing much I suppose. Secondly, the proximity, though I can gauge the distance from Google maps, I can’t be certain that it’s accurate. When I tried to book the restaurants in the same building the office is located, the options are limited. The office building website doesn’t show all the restaurants in the building. The area where the office is located at seems like a big “office city” where there are a few blocks along the same stretch, and the website shows restaurants all over the place, but not each and every of them. I spent half a day to fix meetings and appointments for BB. The next day he made changes again. It’s tedious for me to find a place for his lunch/dinner. When he asked to change, it’s impossible, especially when it’s for the day itself and when it’s a high-class restaurant, as the latter usually requires advance menu booking and payment to be made. How would I know what the bosses and the VVIPs are going to eat? It’s just not efficient.

They are traveling to Korea for a 2-day workshop. Singapore and Japan teams will travel to Korea and all employees will attend this workshop. It’s more of a get-to-know-each-other event. 1 month ago, I asked this Malay colleague who just joined the team then if he’s going for the trip. As he’s on part-time 1-year contract (he works only 2 days per week), somewhat like a consultant, I’m not sure if he’s required to be at the workshop. I asked him twice. If he is going, I would make the flight and hotel bookings for him together with the team. We all know that the earlier you book the flight and accommodation, the cheaper it is likely to be. He didn’t reply yes or no, he just gave very vague responses which I didn’t understand but assumed he’s not keen and not going. I didn’t ask again. Then the irksome HR Manager (will share how irksome he is) asked me to help with this Malay colleague’s flight and hotel bookings. My blood pressure rose. Why the f*** did he not tell me that he’s going when I asked him last month??? I really hate to work with this kinda people, who think that we own the airlines and that we can get whatever we want as and when. It’s frustrating.

Barely 3 months into this new role, I’m already full of anger and grievances. I had wanted this site to be full of love and zen, thus the name. But I feel that the invisibles are giving me tests and challenges all the time and I have to voice out my unhappiness. I don’t wish to bottle them in and explode at one point. I’ll share more, definitely.

Hope all these challenges and obstacles will lessen and stop attacking me.

Leave a comment