My Devil And Angel Talking To Me

I was so drained that I didn’t hear my alarm going off for the nth time, till my mom came in to wake me up before she left for work. It was already almost half an hour after my set alarm starting ringing. I decided not to put on make-up today, to save time. As I have a weekly meeting with the Chinese boss at 9am, I don’t want to be late. Anyway, when I just reached the train station, I heard the announcement that there is some breakdowns somewhere along the route I am taking, thus, there will be a delay of about 10 minutes. Well well, I will still be late after all. Sigh. This is definitely not my day, or should I say, my week. My entire week has been lousy. Though I have no problem serving the two big bosses, I really hate (yes, I hate it now) to work with the Chinese one.

Yesterday, I finally got the time to update the org chart I had been doing for the past month and sent it to her. I was thinking, after all the updates and confirmation from other directors on the reporting structure and stuff, that version should be the final. Then, she got back to me saying it looked better, and asked me if I had confirmed the structure of certain teams with the in-charges, to which I replied that the structure was advised by the respective heads. Then, she sent another email, with the attached chart, with LOTSA comments to amend the chart. WTF!!!!!!!!!! I WAS (and still am) SO DAMN PISSED OFF!!!!!!!!!!! I don’t understand what’s wrong with her. Why couldn’t she just give me the things to amend once and for all???? Does she think that I’m very free????? I don’t report to her only, for goodness sake!!!! Just 1 stupid org chart and I have to amend and edit for so many idiotic times!!!!! Not to mention those other I-don’t-know-what reports and trackers she’s asking for all the time. She really drives me crazy.

I was looking for other opportunities on the job portal, and was thinking of just get a lower pay job with lesser responsibilities, perhaps I will be happier. Then I looked at those job advertisements, the lower pay jobs don’t necessarily have lesser job responsibilities. Sigh. Then my angel started talking to me. If I get a job with a pay cut, that’s equivalent to my mom’s pay. So, with the pay I am getting, it as if I’m working at a lower pay job plus my mom working. So, if my mom retires now, it’s just nice that I have this job, or current pay. Our total household income won’t get lesser.

But to be rational, it’s really too annoying and unproductive working with the Chinese boss. Now I understand why she’s always in meetings. Because she’s not efficient in getting ideas across. If she can’t communicate what she wants to her subordinates, they can’t give what she wants, then she can’t give what her superiors want. So there’s the back-to-back meetings. I don’t care how many meetings she loves to have, perhaps she feels that it means she’s busy and capable, but it is definitely not efficient. It’s just a whole lot of waste of time. That includes mine.

So, I’m on the train. Just now, at some point, at some station, tonnes of people rushed in. I supposed they forgot about the safe distancing. I reckon the COVID-19 cases will escalate again. I hope the next CB will come soon. At least I don’t have to go in to office. And I can look for another job at the same time. I wish I don’t have to see her or have interactions with her so often. I wish my tasks can be an one-off thing, no amendments, no edits, no updates. Bless me.

Leave a comment