Weird Bosses

Big boss (let’s call him B) has issues doing e-signature on PDFs. Initially, I thought there was some monthly quota. Then when I shared this with the Chinese boss (let’s call her C), she suggested checking with the IT department. So, I checked with one of the IT guys, and he showed me how to do e-signature, and told me if B couldn’t do that, perhaps it was some problem with his access pass, and suggested that he brings his laptop along with the card to IT department to let them check.

I told B exactly what the IT guy said. Then B replied that he could e-sign on PDFs at times, and that it’s usually when he’s not the first to sign on the document, he wouldn’t be able to e-sign it. Then, I told the IT guy this issue, and he told me the possible reason. So I relayed the message to B. Wah! I’m a message relay machine or what?? Then, when I received some documents for B to sign, I tried to e-sign on them. If following the possible reason the IT guy said, if I could e-sign it, then there shouldn’t be any problem for B. So, I was able to e-sign the documents. I then sent the documents via email to B for him to E-SIGN. Funny enough, he returned signed copy, but they were physically signed and scanned. I thought, perhaps I didn’t explain myself clearly that I could sign it so perhaps he could as well. Then, the guy who wanted the signed documents reverted that the counter party needed the documents to be e-signed. WHAT??? Normally people want physical signature. What’s wrong with this India company?? Anyway, I forwarded the attachments to B again, this time, explained to him that I tried and was able to e-sign on the documents, and asked him to please try it. I don’t know if he did try it, but he replied the same thing, that usually when someone signed the documents, he won’t be able to sign it. I doubt he had even tried to e-sign on the documents.

So, anyway, I told the IT guy that even when I could e-sign on the documents, B couldn’t, and he replied to ask B to bring his laptop over for check. Once again, I relayed the message to B. No reply. And I doubt that he did that.

Look, here I’m trying to find the root of the issue and solve it for him. Yet, he didn’t even want to try it. Yes, you could say that he’s busy. But by solving this issue, it will be very convenient and efficient for all of us. See, if he can’t do e-signature, I have to get the reception, or I myself will print the documents, then arrange for courier to send it to his place, if we WFH. Then, I’ll have to wait for him to bring the signed documents back to office, then I scan and return copy to the sender. But, I wouldn’t know when he would have it signed and brought back to the office. He never gave me a heads up. I suppose he expects me to check in office every now and then, which is impossible during this pandemic. And if we are both in the office, even if I print and bring the documents to him, I don’t know when he would sign them. He needs to go through them anyway. So, if he returns to me within the day, it will be great. But if he returns it on another day and I happen to WFH, and he doesn’t update me, then how would I know and be able to process them timely? It’s annoying, really.

I really feel so resentful. And today, I’m gonna have a couple of meetings with C. The first is at 9am. Argh. Hope she will postpone it. Who holds meetings at 9am sharp anyway?? Tsk!

Bless me. I want out. Bless me please.

Leave a comment